Leaving on a jet plane

Sitting in the incongruously English “whittards” coffee shop at Koh Samui airport I am irrationally sad. I miss Koh Tao and the sense of challenge and focus I had from learning something new and having daily physical goals. Of course, this over-emotionality could also be caused by being utterly knackered, which I am. I fell asleep a 9.30 pm last night and slept for 11 straight hours, even though I knew the room was full of Mosquitos and there was a mysterious and large half-carcass of a spider in the bathroom (what was it, and what monster killed it?!). my legs and arms are cut and bruised from minor diving mishaps, I’m limping from several despise coral cuts acquired whilst swimming in choppy water and what feels like a strained muscle in my lower leg from fighting a very strong current yesterday wearing the wrong fins (some dickhead nicked mine out of my diving box). So, all in all, a bit of a mess in some respects, but I still feel like I had a fantastic 6 days on Koh Tao and wish I could dive some more…. In a day or two, when I feel less old and battered. The last two evenings where I had quite persistent landsickness and had to walk around my room like an old woman on a raft, hanging on to walls for support would suggest I pushed my body a bit harder than it has been used to of late.

For my troubles, however, I have a pretty great tan, I’ve lost an so far unknown amount of weight, but I can see a definite difference in my body and I am now an Advanced Open Water PADI Diver, which is very cool.

In the last couple of days, beyond my basic diving skills, I had a night dive: quite scary for me, awakened some claustrophobic fears but I did get to see biophosphorescence at 16 meters, and a ship wreck at night, and a huge huge crab; I did a navigation dive which my buddy and I absolutely nailed in quite bad visibility; I did the naturalist adventure dive and saw 30 different species of fish, coral and invertebrate, including a massive sea turtle and a sting ray; worked on my Peak Performance Buoyancy (far from perfect there, but it’s getting better). I div in very choppy waters and experienced trying to get back into the boat when you’re getting smashed around all over the place, and dived in a strong current which was exhausting but also great experience. so, I have 9 dives now and the next time I dive I won’t be a student, but merely a very inexperienced AOW diver-huzzah!

Koh Tao itself is beautiful….probably. I didn’t actually see much of it above water, since I was busy enough to stay on the resort at Tanote Bay but it was a paradise and the bays I saw from the boat and below the waves were all gorgeous. I can see why people go for a week and never come back.

So, Im at Koh Samui airport, waiting for mum to appear from her yoga retreat and then we fly back to Bangkok for one night and then tomorrow on to London, for one final night before I eventually get back to Berlin on Saturday afternoon, probably limpy, stinky and knackered 🙂

Leave a Reply

