When I am a grown up

Recently I’ve been thinking about what I want to achieve by the time I’m 30. Yes, OK, I’m only 27, but in a month or so I’ll be 28 and that is, let’s face it, almost 30.

I know folk don’t like to admit it, but if you were just counting, say, and you got to 27 or 28, you’d say you were *almost* at 30. Wouldn’t you? You would.

So, there, like it or not, I’m numerically almost 30.

And that is a big number and I want to have some shit in order by then so that I can just deal with the fact that I’ll then be a proper grown up, with declining fertility, an even greater propensity to sag and little idea of what my future holds.

So here, in its mediocre glory, is my List and I’m sure I will add to it as I go.

Finances

1.  Be financially solvent: no debt

2. Have savngs and be saving regularly

3. Have a secure, international Pension

Career/Training

4. Figure out what I want to do with my life: find a path in education or a new career path which will give me challenge and excitement, either mentally, physically or both

5. Get a driving licence

Health

6. Be a healthy, maintain able weight, ideally c.65kg

7. Train again in Thailand

Fun

8. Try Taiko Drumming

9. Try Roller Derby

10. Travel to at least 3 new countries

11. Learn something new for the sake of learning

And that’s all for now, folks…

One thought on “When I am a grown up

  1. First up, 30? Oh boo-hoo, there goes that tiny violin again 🙂 Here’s my two cents on the rest…

    1. YES
    2. Yes
    3. Totally optional if 2’s taken care of.
    4. Not to sound patronising but – you’re still young! Not too late to totally change direction by a long shot. Decide whether or not teaching is a long-term option and if not, become a professional skydiver.
    5 – Meh. Cars are pish.
    6 – Healthy is good, just try not to beat yourself up over the exact numbers. Healthy means fuck all without happy.
    7 – YES
    8 – YES
    9 – YES
    10 – I’m such a SE Asia fanboy – you’d love a holiday in ‘Nam if you could manage to stretch to 3 or 4 weeks.
    11 – This gets the biggest yes but I can’t do anything better than typing it in caps so I’ll just give it the longest sentence of my response in order to emphasis just how ‘yes’ education for education’s sake is. Did you ever try scuba diving?

    Kudos for putting the list together though. Yay for sorting oot the heid 🙂

Leave a Reply

