Berliniversary

It’s a year today since I moved to Berlin, and I suppose it’s the time to look back and compare my life then with my life now, my expectations with where I would be today with the reality.

A year ago, about now, I was sitting in Alexander Platz eating breakfast, waiting for my my mum to arrive. I had left Ali that morning: he had driven me to the airport after allowing me to stay with him one last time before I left. Breakup sex = a painful but irresistible mistake. I cried for hours and hours. After he left and drove away, doubtless relieved to the hilt that I would be far enough away that he could get on with his life, I just felt so lost and hopeless. I was convinced I would hate Berlin, I would never meet anybody else, I would be alone and probably have topped myself in no time.

I remember, after the flight, which passed in a blur of sobbing, I got on the train to get from the airport into down and these buskers got on, doing “Tequila”. They’re a common sight to me now, but at the time it felt incredibly surreal, so I tried to call Ali to share it with him. Of course he didn’t pick up – we had broken up and I hadn’t completely grasped it.

I got off the train in Alex with my ridiculously heavy bags and went to the nearest restaurant I could find and ordered a New York Breakfast, with eggs, bacon, maple syrup, coffee: the works. I got out my laptop, tweeted, blogged, checked Facebook and startled myself with how well I was suddenly coping.

Welcome to Being In Shock.

When mum arrived we took a taxi to her hotel to put down our bags and freshen up, and that was it. I dissolved. What the hell was I thinking, moving to this country where I knew nobody and nothing, how would I cope, how would I make a new life…

But I did cope, and I did make a new life.

I didn’t always cope well: I drank more than I should, I slept with more people that I should, I got down, I got meds, I got confused and lonely, but finally I got on my feet.

I’ve made some amazing friends here, and my job is better than anything I could have found in the UK.

I’m learning that language slowly, but with very little effort.

I met a great guy, and although no relationship is perfect or easy I love him, we have a home together and I’m hopeful that we have a future as well.

I have a kitten and next week I will have two.

I am finally getting fit again and thinking about my health and my wellbeing.

This time last year I genuinely thought I’d be dead by now, but here I am and my life is in better shape than I could ever have hoped.

So, where do I think I will be this time next year?

If life so far has shown me anything, it’s that I am not very good at foretelling the future, but I’ll try. I expect to have spent the year in Berlin, with Rob, Mika and Kittycat 2. I expect to have completed a 2nd year at my current job, but probably have decided to move on somewhere different at the end of that year. I’m interested in moving to San Francisco, so possibly I will be preparing to do that. I expect to be at least 5kilos lighter and have found a hobby that I am enjoying and I expect that I will still be hard to please, prone to negativity and doom and gloom, butI hope to be fundamentally happier year on year.

Let’s wait and see…

Happy Berliniversary Me.

One thought on “Berliniversary

Leave a Reply

