Back on track

Aaaaaaahhh…. exercise. Or should I say “Aaaaaarrrrgggggh!!! Exercise!”

It’s been a while, like. In fact, I can tell you exactly how long. I last went to the gym on the 2nd November. That, tellingly, is the day before the Evil Genius become my official boyfriend. Now, we can read into that all day; the fact that I instantly ditch the things that are important to me upon embarking upon a relationship.

Now, that’s gotta stop. Really.

The Ex Husband would probably tell you that when we were married I was, if anything, too independent (or maybe he wouldn’t?) by the end, and we both led very separate lives in many ways. I don’t know if this turn-around is a conscious attempt to fix what I did wrong in that relationship or whether my metaphorical balls just shrivelled up and dropped off at some point in the last year.

Hey ho, I’m going to do my best not to let that happen again.

Christ on a bike, though: I am painfully unfit. My knees are sore, I have wibbly bits all over (and not just in good places), and by 20 minutes into the FitBo class (I mean, seriously, FitBo? Is this what I’ve become?) I was praying for a merciful death.

However, I did it, I’m Muay Thai-ing tomorrow and I have set myself the beginning goal of exercising thrice weekly.

And now I don’t have boys to whinge about, I’ll whinge about my sore knees instead.

Suck it up šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Back on track

  1. Was it really that bad? Damn…

    Planning on hitting the gym myself after four months off the wagon. Get some resistance work going on in there (where the feck did my biceps go?) and do some running with a Thai fella who runs a wee stall by Em’s place. Not looking forward to the pain. Oh no.

    Go you though, dunno about ‘too independent’ but you were always waaaay smilier when you were on a fitness kick šŸ™‚

    PS – FitBo? WTF? Sure you don’t mean fitba’?

Leave a Reply

