Exciting developments

I am almost as excited about my pole as this kitten is about its bacon

I am almost as excited about my pole as this kitten is about its bacon

 

My pole. Elle est arrivée!!

Or should I say “es ist da!”… more on that later.

Today I was greeted with the rather exciting news that my pole had been delivered here to my work – this was particularly pleasing as I thought I had asked for it to be send to my house, which would have been much easier, but less surprising 🙂

Now I’m left with the teensy weensy problem of getting this incredibly heavy, enormous box from Leith to Portobello. I’m on my bike.

Thank god for Carrie and her mercy mission to pick me up and drive me home this evening.

After three: one…. two… three…..

YAY CARRIE!!!!

So tonight, hopefully, I will erect my rock-solid pole (watch it… ) and I may even take a picture and show you.

See, this is the good bit – the bit before the hideous stress of trying to put the bloody thing up and realising something is missing/broken/wrong and having to send it back. Right now, I’m just excited and full of anticipation.

Maybe I’ll just leave it here, after all. If it aint broke, why fix it?

In other news, I have a job interview.

For a teaching post.

In Berlin.

Yes, Berlin in Germany (everybody keeps asking me this – what other Berlin is there that I don’t know about?!)

I’m not sure how I feel about this. I’m excited and flattered obviously, but it’s one thing daydreaming about pissing off abroad all on your lonesome, quite another thing actually doing it.

We shall see.

Anyway, fuck it – I’ve got a pole!!

2 thoughts on “Exciting developments

  1. wow, how exciting, both things that is….have fun with the pole!

    Go for the interview, if you get the job but then after 6 months hate it you can always come home…..what ever you decide your friends will back you coz they seem like a great bunch, you do not want to live the rest of your life regretting it like me! x

Leave a Reply

